About District

Mehsana was established by Mesaji Chavda of Chawda Dynasty in Vikram Samwat 1414. Later Gaekwads established their administrative headquarters to mehsana in 1902. In 1947 with India’s independence Mehsana was merged with union of india. It was part of bombay state. Later in 1960 with the division of bombay state into maharashtra and gujarat. Mehsana became one of the districts of gujarat. Headquarter of mehsana district is at mehsana taluka.

There is a place built by Gaekwads in city known as Rajmahal.

Mehsana district comprises ten talukas: Mehsana, Kadi, Visnagar, Vijapur, Vadnagar, Kheralu, Becharaji, Satlasana, Jotana and Unjha. The area of Mehsana District is 5600 sq. k.m. In the north borders there is Banaskantha District and in the west there is the border of Patan district. In the south there is Ahmedabad district and south-east there is gandhinagar district. In the east there is Sabarkantha district. 

Mehsana has a presence of many major educational institutes. Ganpat University, located 10 km from city, offers specialising in areas as IT, engineering, pharmacy, agriculture, science, management, arts and commerce. Gujarat Power Engineering College and Saffrony Institute of Technology offers courses in engineering and management. B.S Patel College Of Pharmacy offers courses pharmacy. They are affiliated with the Gujarat Technological University. Sarvajanik Kelvani Mandal Trust runs many schools in north Gujarat. It also offers education in field of pharmacy, nursing, homeopathy. There is Gurukul English Medium School in T.J.Highschool Complex 124 years old. This school has been started English Medium in year 2012 With a goal to provide Best English Education. There are many primary and higher secondary schools like N.G. International School which is one of leading CBSE Schools in Mehsana.

Headquarter Mehsana City
Taluka 10
Villages 614
Municipality 7